Product Reviews

4.8/5
(26,187 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
(23,986)
(1363)
(223)
(291)
(324)

Shop With Confidence

Every review submitted on this page is from a real Function of Beauty customer who has purchased a set. In the interest of transparency, we never change reviews or use incentives to influence these reviews. Here you can compare how people of different hair types and hair goals rate their experience with our shampoo and conditioners.



★★★★★
Sabrina
2017-05-01
verified review
I was skeptical of using this, when...
I was skeptical of using this, when it came in the mail I used it that same night. I LOVE this product. I love the strong smell as it stays in my hair till the next time I wash it. I noticed a huge difference even after using it the first time. It makes my hair crazy soft and smooth, didn't get as much of the frizz out of my hair as I wanted but its also humid where I live. Nothing is perfect. Needless to say I am very happy with this product and highly recommend it for people who love strong smelling hair care like myself and people who like a product that really works.
normal, medium, wavy
straighten, anti-frizz, shine, color protection, deep condition
grapefruit hibiscus, strong
Caitlin
2017-04-30
verified review
I am very disappointed with this shampoo...
I am very disappointed with this shampoo and conditioner. Instead of helping with my dry scalp, it has made it more itchy and the flaking more severe. It may have been helping with the other issues I have, but my scalp was my biggest concern. I can't care that my split ends are mended and my hair has more volume if I'm constantly itching my scalp and picking out flakes of dried skin from my hair.
dry, medium, straight
volumize, fix split ends, strengthen, soothe scalp, nourish roots
essential oils, medium
★★★★★
Kate
2017-04-30
Amazing scent! My hair has never...
Amazing scent! My hair has never looked better. I write a beauty blog and I featured your products this month!
★★
Kat
2017-04-30
verified review
I am disappointed in this shampoo and...
I am disappointed in this shampoo and conditioner. I read the reviews, and carefully selected what I'd like my hair to be like. I chose the oil control, anti-frizz, and soothe scalp. My results after using the shampoo for two weeks, were a disappointment. My hair ironically ended becoming much more greasy, and frizzy. My hair which use to be so soft, is now dry, greasy, and frizzy. My hair is literally like hay. The only thing I like about what I ordered, was the scent of the shampoo. Otherwise I personally do not recommend spending almost 40$ on this.
oily, medium, wavy
oil control, soothe scalp, straighten, shine, anti-frizz
essential oils, medium
★★
Mary
2017-04-30
verified review
Disappointing. I really wanted to love this...
Disappointing. I really wanted to love this product, but it leaves a greasy residue on my hair. It makes it look like I didn't even wash it. It's not worth the money to me to buy again. I probably won't even finish the bottles I have. The scent is the only thing I like about it.
oily, fine, straight
volumize, anti-frizz, oil control, fix split ends, shine
essential oils, medium
★★★
Lisa
2017-04-29
verified review
Didn't leave my hair as soft or...
Didn't leave my hair as soft or as defined as I had hoped...dont know if I'd buy again...
normal, fine, curly
replenish hair, strengthen, volumize, anti-frizz, curl definition
essential oils, strong
★★★★★
Katja
2017-04-29
verified review
I went for years trying to find...
I went for years trying to find a good shampoo and conditioner since I have dry curly hair. I ordered my first bottle about two months ago and here I am ordering my second set. This is a great product and I recommend that people actually get this! My hair is so soft that I don't need to put oils in for my dry scalp so much anymore. The only down side is that I wish I can order bigger sized bottles for college like a 32 oz. I would pay the extra money to get a bigger size too.
dry, coarse, curly
anti-frizz, fix split ends, strengthen, hydrate, deep condition
cucumber mint, medium
★★★★★
Irene
2017-04-29
verified review
I excitedly put Function of Beauty products...
I excitedly put Function of Beauty products on my Christmas list this year, as I've been searching for years to find a shampoo that effectively and healthily deals with oil control. I've been using the shampoo and conditioner for about 4.5 months now and I'm SO happy with the results! I'm a believer in infrequent washes, as I think daily washes strip your roots unnecessarily, and this shampoo totally lets me put this belief into practice. I usually go about 3 or 4 days without washing, with just the last day starting to look a little greasy. Before this shampoo I couldn't do that at all, and was compensating by basically spraying butane on myself (aka dry shampoo). So happy to not have to do that anymore! Also the products leave my hair drying beautifully! I barely have to brush it now. Perfect for low maintenance me.
oily, medium, wavy
oil control, shine, curl definition, volumize, lengthen
essential oils, strong
★★★★★
rEBECCA
2017-04-29
verified review
I've been pleasantly surprised at how awesome...
I've been pleasantly surprised at how awesome my experience has been so far. I was initially reluctant about whether or not it would work because I've tried so many different hair products and none of them have made a difference for me. I feel like my hair usually gets so oily that I could shower twice a day and yet at the same time my hair was SO dry that I needed to lather a ridiculous amount of conditioner on it each time and it would still take me 10 minutes to detangle. I've only been using the shampoo and condition for two weeks but I can already go every other day without washing my hair and it does NOT look anywhere near as oily as it used to. It also retains its volume. While my hair is still somewhat dry, I can feel that it's definitely improving and it's not as hard to brush and detangle when I get out of the shower. Overall, I'm really impressed at how well it's been working for me. My scent is minty and I like it :)
oily, fine, wavy
strengthen, oil control, deep condition, volumize, hydrate
essential oils, medium
★★★★★
Cristina
2017-04-28
I had a long review written out...
I had a long review written out but I'll just cut to the chase and save you some time. Bottom line: this is THE best shampoo and conditioner I have ever used! I will definitely purchase again. Pros: leaves my thin & dull hair looking thick & shiny, practically eliminated my terrible dandruff, soothed my scalp (huge deal because I have seborrheic dermatitis), long lasting scent, cheaper than or comparable to most salon brands, formula can be changed with each order and the obvious - adorable packaging. Cons: delivery was delayed. I had run out of my old shampoo days before my package arrived but they did credit my account for the inconvenience, which was appreciated. I'll be sure to plan my next delivery more carefully.