Product Reviews

4.9/5
(21,184 reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
(19,444)
(1071)
(180)
(225)
(264)

Shop With Confidence

Every review* submitted on this page is from a real Function of Beauty customer who has purchased a set. In the interest of transparency, we never change reviews or use incentives to influence these reviews. Here you can compare how people of different hair types and hair goals rate their experience with our shampoo and conditioners.

*There is no guarantee of specific results. Individual results may vary.



★★★★★
Rosemary
2017-03-19
verified review
I used it for month and still...
I used it for month and still like it
normal, fine, wavy
volumize, strengthen, anti-aging, shine, color protection
essential oils, medium
★★★★
Laura
2017-03-19
verified review
I do wish there were more fragrances....
I do wish there were more fragrances.
normal, fine, wavy
anti-aging, thermal protection, color protection, replenish hair, nourish roots
essential oils, medium
★★★★★
Robin
2017-03-19
verified review
I love it! The shampoo lathers up...
I love it! The shampoo lathers up nicely and had a nice minty scent. The conditioner was nice and felt good on my hair and left it soft and touchable when it was dry. Great product!
normal, medium, straight
volumize, shine, deep condition, nourish roots, color protection
cucumber mint, medium
★★★★★
Kelly
2017-03-19
verified review
I am absolutely in love with my...
I am absolutely in love with my shampoo and conditioner. I noticed a difference in my hair right after the first use and it's only gotten better with time. I find that if I miss one day of washing, my hair doesn't get super oily within 24 hrs like it used to, I have noticed less split ends which has led to softer feeling hair, and I have also noticed that my brushes and combs just glide through my hair now, with little to no resistance. I will definitely be making another order soon!
oily, fine, wavy
oil control, strengthen, anti-frizz, volumize, fix split ends
essential oils, light
★★★★★
Rachel
2017-03-19
verified review
This is going to be quite a...
This is going to be quite a lengthy review. I have incredibly thick, just-past-my-shoulders length hair. It's very fine, slightly wavy, and again, very thick. For the past year, I've been using Redken products. I only bleach out my roots, and use non ammonia dye (Sparks, Special Effects, Manic Panic, etc.) However, I do use a flat iron about 4 days a week. I work in the beauty industry, and have a lot of customers who ask for hair care advice. I was always slightly embarrassed, because I had fried ends, dull, lifeless hair, that lacked any movement or shine. No matter what I used, no matter the high end products, the hair masks.. It was stiff, dull, and brittle. The color was beautiful, don't get me wrong, but you couldn't run your fingers through it, and it wouldn't move much in the wind. I saw an advertisement about Function of Beauty on instagram, and looked into it. I was very excited about customizing something. But didn't really think it would do too much. I assumed I would use it once, my hair would feel dry, and I would stop using it. When it arrived, in its pretty turquoise box, the first thing I noticed was the smell. Super intense, minty scent. I was excited about that, because as a last resort, it would at least make a nice bubble bath. A few days later, it was hair washing day. I actually double checked the bottle twice after shampooing because I couldn't believe how silky my hair was after the shampoo. It was slippery and the water cascading off of it. Good start. I then used the conditioner, put my shower cap on, and let it sit. Now, I'm used to having to leave my conditioner in for at least 45 minutes, but preferably about 3 hours. It's the only way my hair would feel moisturized. So I left it in for an hour, but ran out of time, and rinsed it out. My hair felt completely different. My fingers ran through it easily. It just feels different. The movement is incredible. Now, I usually twist my hair up in a towel to dry. I let it dry for 30 minutes in the towel (dry brittle hair = holds a lot of water) and switch the side of the towel thats more dry after 15 minutes. I went to switch it after fifteen minutes, but felt my hair was almost dry. This means it was moisturized enough that my hair wasn't holding excess water. I'm on hair washing number 4 now. All of my coworkers have commented on how shiny my hair is. When I flat iron my hair perfectly straight, it's floppy and breezy in the wind. It's feathery and light. My curls hold better. I've gotten compliments on how nice my hair smells, which I've not gotten in years. I'm actually excited to wash my hair. I feel confident talking to customers about hair care. My boyfriend runs his fingers through my hair nonstop. The blue hair dye I've been using lasts longer, and looks more radiant. I only wish the bottles were larger. I require quite a bit of product, just because I have so much hair, and am nearly out of my set. I've updated to be sent the re-up
normal, fine, wavy
deep condition, fix split ends, strengthen, lengthen, color protection
cucumber mint, strong
★★★★★
Marina
2017-03-19
verified review
I would recommend to family and friends....
I would recommend to family and friends. I will definitely order again in the future.
oily, medium, wavy
shine, straighten, hydrate, oil control, replenish hair
essential oils, light
★★★★★
Paige
2017-03-19
verified review
Wow! This stuff is amazing!! ...
Wow! This stuff is amazing!! I have had hair loss and thin hair for a while now. Using a sulfate free shampoo has helped, then when I saw an add and tried this shampoo/conditioner that was personalized I found something that would not only keep my hair on my head but actually make it look good and feel healthy. This is the best hair products I have ever used. Great service, smells is amazing, just the best.
normal, fine, straight
fix split ends, strengthen, lengthen, volumize, shine
grapefruit hibiscus, strong
★★★★★
Anne
2017-03-19
verified review
Best hair care I have ever used....
Best hair care I have ever used. No split ends. My natural curl is back and my volume is amazing. I couldn't be happier.
normal, medium, curly
volumize, lengthen, anti-frizz, curl definition, strengthen
essential oils, medium
★★★★★
Carrie
2017-03-19
verified review
I really love the results I'm getting...
I really love the results I'm getting from my customized shampton and conditioner! My hair feels stronger and more hydrated than it has been in a long time. The cucumber mint scent is lovely! The only bad thing was one of the pumps was broken, but I had a different one that worked on the bottle. All in all, I will be reordering!
normal, fine, curly
curl definition, anti-aging, shine, deep condition, strengthen
cucumber mint, medium
★★★★★
Keeli
2017-03-19
verified review
THIS IS AMAZING. My hair has never...
THIS IS AMAZING. My hair has never been this healthy and long and shiny. I also have problems with my scalp and it took me a long time to find a shampoo and conditioner that didn't irritate my scalp. This one is better and also cheaper! I will definitely be repurchasing this!
dry, fine, wavy
soothe scalp, strengthen, hydrate, deep condition, lengthen
essential oils, light